2011 Photo Throwdown: Day 319

(iPhone - Nov. 15, 2011)

I had been thinking about painting for a while, and one day after several whiskeys I decided it would be an excellent idea to spend almost $200 on paints, canvases and supplies. (This, after nearly a decade of not having drawn or painted anything. I think the last thing I created might have been a charcoal sketch of 2Pac, so that gives you an idea of how long it’s been.) And so I’ve started painting.

I meant to just get a base layer down last night, but ended up working on it maniacally until 4:30 a.m. Earlier, I had visions of being one of those dainty painters in the white smocks, with the odd rogue smudge of paint on my hands and face, but in reality the whole thing look liked a disaster zone. There was pink, black, silver, purple paint on my arms, face and legs, streaks of blue in my hair from trying to push stray strands back. I looked like Lady Gaga had exploded on me. I also stepped in a blob of paint then proceeded to stamp it around my apartment as I went to get another drink. Oh, and there were spilt drinks.

Anyway, this is where I left off at 4:30 a.m. Not sure where I’m going to go from here yet, but I’m thinking I’ll be working away at it for at least another week or two.

Real artists: Any ideas?

3 comments

    1. Thanks, friend. I switched to bourbon for day two and the piece took a turn for the worse. I think it’ll be back to whiskey for my next go at it.

Leave a Reply

