2011 Photo Throwdown: Day 235

Spider plant (iPhone – Aug. 23, 2011)

Not a particularly interesting photo, but it gives me the chance to share something I thought was kind of neat. I’ve had this spider plant for maybe a year, and some months back, I noticed this weird little offshoot of it had grown about a foot away from the body of the plant. (It looked like the thing on the left of the photo, but much further removed.) I cut it off and tossed it, because it was strange, and messed with the look of the plant. More recently, I learned that that thing is called a “spiderling,” or a “baby spider.” Whereas I used to think spider plants earned their name because they vaguely resemble spiders, it turns out these weird little spiderlings can grow into spider plants themselves. Google tells me you can place them (still attached to the mama spider plant) on some soil nearby, and they’ll start to lay down roots. Then you can cut them from the host plant.

That’s kind of neat, right? Or am I just that lame now? Or do most people already know this already? Shrug.

Friend and colleague Erin Loxam and I have pledged to take and upload one photo every day for all of 2011. See how she’s doing here.

Leave a Reply

